Apple Stamping

image

My nearly four year old son isn’t always excited about painting. If I substitute a stamp for a brush, however, his little face lights up and he can’t wait to tackle the project! As part of our fall theme week, I thought doing some apple stamping would be a fun idea! This art project can definitely be done by both toddlers and preschoolers- my two year old did a great job as well!

Materials Needed:

  • 1 small apple
  • brown construction paper
  • red, yellow and green paint
  • gluestick
  • sketching paper

image

I cut the apple in half- one for each kid so no fighting 😉 I cut out a tree trunk and branches from a sheet of brown construction paper. My two little ones glued their tree trunks to a large sheet of sketch paper.

image

They both had a great time dipping their apple in paint and stamping it on top of the tree making the “leaves.” You can either wash the apple off between colors or mix the colors. Let them be creative!

image

Timmy’s creation. He informed me that the green apples had fallen off the tree.

image

Vera’s apple tree. I think she did a great job!

Such a fun, simple art project to do with the kids. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

