The Liebster Award

Liebster

I feel very fortunate to have been nominated for the Liebster Award by the very lovely Betsy Smith over at Happily Ever After, Etc. She nominated me awhile ago but I’m just now getting around to sharing this post.

How rewarding it is to know that other people are not only reading my blog, but actually like it, too- at least one other person (who isn’t my mother) thinks I show promise as a new blogger! I’ve been blogging for about 8 months now but have only recently begun to put some real effort into my blog. A husband on deployment, two little ones, another pregnancy and a cross country move really have a way of keeping one occupied!

For those that have never heard of the Liebster Award, it is an award for bloggers given by other bloggers. One blogger awards the Liebster Award to a new blog that they find potential in. Liebster, a German word, means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome. What a nice gesture it is to nominate another blogger for this award! Once presented with the award you have the ability to accept or refuse… but why would you refuse? It’s a great way to discover new blogs and connect! In accepting the award, the nominated blogger has to agree to do a few simple things.

  • Post the award on your blog.
  • Thank the blogger who presented this award and link back to their blog.
  • Write 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 11 bloggers who you feel deserve this award and who have less than 200 followers.
  • Answer 11 questions posted by the presenter and ask your nominees 11 questions.

Here are 11 random facts about me:

I have an identical twin sister. I’ve always felt we’re so much closer than just simply sisters. We were inseparable the first 22 years of our lives and it kills me that we now live 3000 miles apart. Thank goodness for Skype!

I love my red wine. The hardest part about being pregnant is giving it up for 9+ months. And coffee…I love coffee. There’s absolutely no way I could give up coffee while pregnant, especially with two toddlers.

I have a large family- 3 siblings, 13 aunts and uncles and too many cousins to count. I grew up in a family with lots of talk, love and laughter and hope to have a large family of my own (we’re off to a great start)!

I earned a BS in chemistry from the University of Notre Dame and I’m very proud of this accomplishment. I worked for 5 years in the pharmaceutical research field before having my first child and becoming a SAHM. I love being at home with my little ones!

I moved to San Diego the day after my 23rd birthday with one suitcase and some money I had saved. I didn’t know a soul there and I built a nice life for myself in that beautiful city for 6 sun-filled years. It’s the most adventurous and impulsive thing I’ve ever done in my life.

I met my husband on Match.com. We were married 8 days shy of the second anniversary of our first date. I guess you could say we’re a Match.com success story!

I’m a Navy wife. Before I married my husband, I thought the prospect of moving around frequently sounded like an adventure. And it is… with cross country moves and deployments, it’s an often lonely and stressful adventure, but an adventure nonetheless. In our four years of marriage we’ve moved from San Diego, to Rhode Island, to Virginia and now Washington State. I’m very proud of my husband’s sacrifices for our family and country, though.

I’m a huge Notre Dame football fan. Even as a little girl, I remember curling up next to my dad on the couch every fall Saturday afternoon and watching the Irish.

I love cooking Italian food, mostly because I love to eat it 🙂 Pasta, cheese, wine and bread, what could be better?

I started blogging last year when my husband was on his last deployment. Deployments can be long and lonely- I needed a hobby! Now that I’ve started blogging, I really love meeting new bloggers and seeing all of everyone’s great ideas.

I’m afraid of cats. I’m not really sure why but they really give me the creeps. And they ALWAYS KNOW I don’t like them and love to bother me.

Without further adieu, here are the answers to my Liebster questions from Betsy…

How much time do you spend blogging each week?

Oh boy, not nearly enough. I wish I had more time to devote to my blog each week. My toddlers wear me out by the time I put them to bed each night. Spending my evenings blogging makes me feel as though I’m neglecting my poor husband. Each week is different though- this week I probably spent about 3 hours.

You just won a million-gazillion dollars, what do you use it for?

i would share it with my parents and siblings and make the rest of their lives incredibly comfortable for all of them. I would also make a huge donation to St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital- I love what they do! And my crazy/ridiculous/selfish want would be to buy my own island. I don’t think there would be anything more awesome than having my own vacation resort built on my very own island.

If you had time to grab one thing during a fire (not counting people, kids or pets… they’re all safe) what would it be?

Definitely my wedding ring (if I weren’t wearing it). I leave it on my bathroom vanity each night before going to bed. Not only do I absolutely LOVE it, but it obviously carries so much sentimental value.

How many siblings do you have?

I have three siblings. My oldest brother John is living in Chicago and is 4 years older than I am. My brother Brian lives in North Carolina with his wife and son and is 2 years older than I am. My twin sister Bridget lives in North Carolina with her husband and two children. She’s 10 whole minutes older than I am 🙂 We’re all very close despite the distance between us.

You just won an all expense paid vacation to anywhere in the world. Where are you going?

Tahiti! I’ve always wanted to visit this beautiful paradise. Someday, maybe.

What do you do each and every day FOR YOUR BLOG? Write posts? Hit up social media?

Honestly I don’t work on it each day. Because I do like to craft, I usually get in a little bit of crafting each day. I take lots of pictures in hopes of working on posts in the future.

If you had a day off, all to yourself… no chores, no work, no kids. What would you do?

A day to my self… Wow. I told my husband the other day that I want a day all to myself before baby #3 gets here. He agreed but we’ll see if it actually happens. My day would start with a nice long walk with some coffee. I’d do some shopping and then get a pedicure and my hair cut and colored. And if I weren’t pregnant I’d have a few glasses of red wine and take a long, hot bubble bath.

What is your earliest memory?

I have very early memories of sitting on the lap of my lovely mother and having her sing to me. I hope my kids have such sweet memories of me some day.

What is your goal for 2015, for your blog?

My goal is to post more regularly and to solidify the focus of my blog. I would also like to become better at finding new blogs to follow and increase my own following.

When do you blog? In the morning? Late at night? When the kids are napping?

Whenever I can. I do sometimes have the luxury of both kids napping at the same time and I try to blog during these quiet moments. Otherwise it’s in the evenings after the kids are asleep.

What’s the funniest joke you’ve heard this week?

Hmmm…it’s not really a joke, but all the cute stuff my 3 year old says each day. He makes me laugh each and every day.

Here are my nominations (in no particular order) for the Liebster Award:

Tiffany @ Spark and Pook

Nancy @ Mimi and the Grands

Debbie @ Simple Joys of Home

Rebekah @ Charming Imperfections

Sticky Boogers

Meaghan @ Cook Craft Love

Disguised as a Supermom

Tidbits In Time

Yanic @ Family, Faith, Food and Fabric

Erin @ The Everyday Mom

Kelly @ So Much To Make

Here are your 11 questions:

Who is your favorite author or what is your favorite book?

What is your best childhood memory?

What is your guilty pleasure?

If you could have coffee (or a drink) with one famous person, who would it be?

Why do you blog and what do you get out of blogging?

What is taking up space on your DVR these days?

What is the one food that you could never, ever give up for the rest of your life?

if you could go back to high school/your teenage years, would you? Why or why not?

Who is your biggest supporter as a blogger?

Do you have any goals for your blog?

What’s one thing you do or like that most people might consider a bit odd?

Thanks again to Betsy for the nomination. Let’s keep the Liebster love going, everyone! I look forward to reading the responses from the blogs I nominated.

5 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. Congratulations on your nomination! I enjoyed reading about you–especially your sweet earliest memory. We don’t realize our impact as mothers.
    Sincerest thanks for nominating me and my blog. I look forward to responding on my blog and moving the Liebster forward!

Leave a Reply

