Ornament Ball Christmas Wreath

Pinterest and crafting blogs have been flooded with ornament ball wreaths the last few Christmas seasons, and with good reason. They really are cute and simple to make- I just had to have one of my own! I’ve been on the hunt for just the right (and inexpensive) ornaments lately, and when I spotted a pre-packaged assortment of white, red, green and gold ornaments at 50% off, I had to buy them. I couldn’t wait to make my wreath!

I found it’s best to use ornaments of varied sizes. The smallest ornaments did a great job of filling in any gaps in my wreath.wreath 2I bent a wire coat hanger into the best circular shape I could- easier said than done- and then strung my ornaments onto the hanger. I know some tutorials recommend gluing the hooks onto the ornaments before stringing them, but I skipped this step. Ornaments falling off or breaking were never an issue. I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical of how this would end up when I added the first 20 ornaments or so. The wreath didn’t really start to take shape unitl I had added plenty of ornaments. wreath 1To close the wire hanger loop, I used pliers to twist the ends together- I did this carefully so I  didn’t warp the wire and break my ornaments!wreath 3I glued some of the ornaments together just to give my wreath a more uniform circular shape.

wreath9I just love my new wreath and so do my kids. Timmy wanted to play with it and little Vera just stood there with her tiny mouth wide open in awe. wreath10

3 thoughts on “Ornament Ball Christmas Wreath

  1. What a cute wreath! I’ve also been dying to try my hand at making an ornament wreath this season, just haven’t gotten around to it yet! Love yours though 🙂

  2. I’m totally in love with this! Pinned and tweeted. We appreciate you being a part of our party, and I hope to see you on tonight at 7 pm. We love partying with you!
    Happy Monday! Lou Lou Girls

Leave a Reply

