Old Sweater Christmas Wreath

I’ve had this green cable knit sweater for many, many years. I loved the color, but it was time for it to go. I just love making beautiful new creations from old sweaters- boot socks, scarves, fabric flowers. Someday I’ll get around to posting tutorials for everything I’ve made from my old sweaters. Now I can add a festive Christmas wreath to my list of new uses for old sweaters!

wreath1

I cut the two front panels off the sweater. I wrapped the cable knit fabric around a foam wreath form and used a little hot glue to secure the fabric to the back of the wreath. wreath2

The seams where the two panels of fabric joined were easily hidden- one at the top of the wreath (behind the hanger) and the other behind the decorations I added to the bottom portion of the wreath.

I picked up some lovely glittered pinecones and jingle bells at Target the other day for a few dollars. My daughter loved the jingle bells so much I had to wait until her nap time to get them away from her. The gray and white felt flowers I had leftover from an earlier project. You can find the tutorial here. A few dabs of hot glue to add the bells, pinecones and flowers and I was done.

wreath3

wreath4

I love how my wreath turned out! Not too bad for an old sweater and 10 minutes of work. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

2 thoughts on “Old Sweater Christmas Wreath

  1. Pingback: Talented Tuesday Link Party #8

Leave a Reply

