Handmade Christmas Stockings

Our mantle looked pretty sad after the Christmas decorations had been put up. The husband and I had stockings to hang but there were none for the kiddies. Even though my sewing skills are non existent, I thought it would be a fun to make Christmas stockings. And besides, I needed a craft to keep me busy during the evenings while my husband was away during the month of December. After spending a great deal of time perusing Pinterest, I came across this very helpful tutorial on Cluck Cluck Sew.

Her tutorial made the project oh so simple even for someone as inept as I am at sewing. I did make a few minor changes from the steps laid out in the tutorial. I bought more fabric than I needed for the project so I could make matching stockings for any future little ones that might come along. I also added a layer of batting between the outer fabric and lining. And finally, I didn’t quilt the fabric for the stockings. (Yikes. Maybe I’ll attempt something like that in the future.) To make them just a little bit extra special and sentimental, I used the kids’ baby blankets for the fabric to line their stockings. I thought it was a great way to make use of these blankets collecting dust in a box in the back of my son’s closet.

052

For someone with no sewing skills, I’m pretty happy with how they turned out.

stocking 1

stocking 2

048

 Cute, right? I’d love to have them embroidered in red with the kids’ names.

Leave a Reply

