Spicy Dr. Pepper Shredded Pork

The crock pot may be the busy mom’s best friend. When the kids are napping or their hands are busy with some activity, it’s a perfect time to start dinner–even if it’s only lunchtime. I don’t know about you but my evenings are always a little bit crazy trying to get the kids fed, cleaned up and ready for bed. The last thing I want to do around 5 or 6 in the evening is start making dinner for my husband and I. My husband works long hours and sometimes isn’t home until after the kids are in bed. It always makes me feel good to not have to give him reheated leftovers after his long day of work.

Because I use my crock pot so often, I’m always on the hunt for new and delicious recipes. I’m so glad I stumbled upon this recipe for Spicy Dr. Pepper Shredded Pork over on The Pioneer Woman. It sounded interesting and the pictures looked amazing. I just had to make my own crock pot version of her shredded pork recipe. Ever since I first tried this recipe, I’ve made it countless times and never been disappointed. The pork comes out of the crock pot full of flavor and unbelievably tender. Try it tonight! I promise your family will love it.

12 oz. (1 and 1/2 C) Dr. Pepper

1 onion

1 can chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (optional)

Brown sugar (optional)

1 cup BBQ sauce

Pork shoulder/ pork butt roast

1. Peel and quarter your onion.

2. Separate the quarters and spread on the bottom of the crock pot.

3. Put the pork on top of the onions with the fatty side facing upwards.

4. Pour the chipotle peppers in adobo over the top. These are pretty spicy. I’ve made the pork with and without the peppers depending on my mood. Trust me, both are good.

5. Pour the Dr. Pepper over the top of the roast. The Dr. Pepper gives the meat so much flavor and no, it doesn’t end up tasting anything like the soda.

6. Add a couple of spoonfuls of brown sugar to the soda if you’d like. I usually skip this step. Add your favorite BBQ sauce.

7. Give the liquid a quick stir, put the lid on, set it and enjoy the wonderful aroma filling your kitchen for the next 6-8 hours.

8. Carefully lift the pork out and place on a plate. The roast should shred easily with 2 forks. While shredding the pork I usually can’t help myself and end up eating at least a whole serving of the pork. Return what’s left of the pork to the liquid in the crock pot.

There are many ways to enjoy shredded pork, I suppose, but I prefer mine as it is on a bun. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

